The 5 Love Languages

5 Love Languages

Author, Gary Chapman, developed the idea of the 5 Love Languages in 1995. Chapman’s theory explains that there are five different ways in which people express and experience love.

The reason he created the 5 Love Languages is because he realized that not everybody gives and receives love in the same ways. This means, that what makes one person feel loved does not necessarily make another person feel loved, and vice versa.

Finding out which of the 5 Love Languages you and your loved ones respond to best is said to improve the quality of your relationships. When you know what makes a person feel loved, it will help rekindle the relationship and resolve any conflict in a more positive manner.

What Are The 5 Love Languages?

  1. Words of Affirmation– Expressing affection through words of affirmation, like praise, compliments or appreciation.
  2. Acts of Service– Actions speaking louder than words, doing something for someone else.
  3. Receiving Gifts– When gifts are symbolic of affection, love and appreciation.
  4. Quality Time– Giving another person undivided attention to express love.
  5. Physical Touch- Feeling affection through the appropriate physical touch.
5 Love Languages
Toronto Distillery District

How do you find out which of the 5 Love Languages makes you feel most loved?

  • On the website,, there is a free quiz!

Does your love language change over time?

  • Like many other personality traits, the way you give love will develop early and remain fairy consistent. On the other hand, it is normal that as your needs change, so might the ways you like to receive love. For example, perhaps if you have a big house and children to care for, acts of service might become important to you and jump to the top of your list.

What if my partner receives love differently that I give love?

  • The good news is, all of the 5 Love Languages can be learned with a little bit of effort. It is great that you figured out how to make your partner happy and that you can begin to work towards it. It is normal that only a couple of the love languages come natural to us, whereas the others need to be learned.

Will this work for family and friends, too?

  • Absolutely! Maybe you feel like a friend of yours doesn’t care as much as you’d like them to. It may be because you respond well to words of affirmation, for example, yet that friend shows their love through quality time. Once you analyze the way the people in your life given receive love, it will definitely help you strengthen your relationships!

Where can I find out more about the 5 Love Languages?

  • The creator of the 5 Love Languages has written a book on the topic which you can find below. Keep in mind, if you choose to purchase this book through this Amazon link, I may make a small commission as I am an affiliate.

The 5 Love Languages – Book by Gary Chapman


I recently did the 5 Love Languages quiz and I found that I respond the highest to Quality Time. This makes sense to me because I do appreciate when I have someone’s undivided attention, it certainly makes me feel loved and cared for.

Did you do the 5 Love Languages quiz? Do you find it enlightening, or accurate? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

Let’s be friends on    Twitter     Instagram    Pinterest !

Related Post: What Is Your Myers-Briggs Type?


One thought on “The 5 Love Languages

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: